It All Started with Sky King…

I learned that Charles Murray has another tome out on what is wrong with us and why.  Coming Apart: The State of America, 1960-2010.  It sent me into a reverie.  I had produced 10 pounds of hate on America’s moral decline. My tome had gotten me an interview on a right-wing cable TV news show.

Cable TV: “Our guest today is J. T. Augustine Jordan, an independent scholar whose new book, Sky King: Satan’s Siren has caused a storm of reaction across the US, from board room to bathroom.  Mr. Jordan tell us about this new take on the origins of America’s plunge.”

Me: “The Sky King radio show and subsequent TV show began to infect American culture as early as the later 1940’s.  A single man living with his “niece,” named the disingenuously sweet-sounding Penny.  Please.  Sadly, we know all too well about liberals and their “nieces.”

“On Saturday mornings in the 1950’s Sky insinuated his deviant mores into the minds of  millions of unsuspecting white American kids. Why wasn’t he married, with a family that meets the Santorum Standard?  Where the heck are Penny’s parents?  And “Clipper” the too precious nephew.  Not Butch nor Buddy, but Clipper.  An American name for a real American boy? I think not.

“We know to ask these things, but in the 50’s millions of impressionable baby boomers did not.  They just saw sweet Penny and old Schuyler King swanning around the American West in their own private Sodom and  Gomorrah in the clouds; mocking our morals under a cynical cover: grandstanding episodes of crime fighting and life saving.”

Cable TV: “And in the book you cite some very significant evidence of the real damage Sky King did to America.”

Me: “Look at the drug epidemic that came next.  First we have SKY King. Then we have the Beatles’ ode to LSD ‘Lucy in the SKY with Diamonds’  and that heroin-happy ‘Jimi’ (I do air quotes here) Hendrix singing “Scuse me while I kiss the SKY.”  “Spirit in the SKY.”  Millions of Blame America Firsters getting HIGH.  Are you seeing the pattern  here? Out of the clear blue of the Western sky came…nothing less than the destruction of that very West.”

I finish, face to the camera, nodding gravely.

About stephenomeara

My name is Jim Jordan. I have had the privilege of working with the Boston Police Department and hundreds more departments over my nearly 30-year career in police administration and city government. I am now teaching and consulting independently at www.sergeantsleadership.org. I have learned the best of what I know from the thousands of smart, dedicated and ethical police personnel and scholars who have guided me along the way. My address is named for the great Reform commissioner of the Boston Police at the turn of the 20th century. Commissioner O'Meara died just a short while before the Strike in 1919. He was replaced by a vicious puppet (of Gov. Coolidge) named Edwin U. Curtis. Had O'Meara lived events may have turned out quite differently.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

